Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Heat Rocks

Dec 13, 2018

The Album: Kanye West My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy (2010)

2018 has been a tough year for Kanye West and Kanye West fans. He's showed up in unlikely places and waxed problematic about virtually everything , earned the ire of some of the West Coast's most loyal representatives, inspired critical analysis, all the while releasing Ye, his eighth solo album, an album as part of a group, and executive producing albums for Teyana Taylor, Pusha T and Nas.

Sure, he's been booked and busy, but also the center of controversy and speculation.

In 2010, he embraced his controversy, on the thirteen track My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Macy Gray joined us to talk about her fanship and hardcore love of this album, why she bumped one song all the way to Vegas, what caused her to rock a "MAKE KANYE GREAT AGAIN" hat for the 'gram and Kanye's impressive production on the album. We talked about Kanye's choice of samples, what can be learned about Kanye via MBDTF and why this album is great, but not his greatest.

Ironically, we recorded this episode before Kanye's SNL appearance.

Eavesdrop. Please.

More on Macy Gray

More on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Show Tracklisting (all songs from My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy unless indicated otherwise):

  • Power
  • Macy Gray: I've Committed Murder
  • Macy Gray: Shinanigins
  • Kanye West: Jesus Walks
  • Lost in the World
  • Roald Dahl's Revolting Rhymes
  • Dark Fantasy
  • Aphex Twin: Avril 14th
  • Blame Game
  • Gil Scott-Heron: Comment 1
  • Who Will Survive in America
  • Bon Iver: Woods
  • Lost in the World
  • Monster
  • Runaway
  • Power
  • Devil in a New Dress
  • Dark Fantasy
  • Runaway

Spotify playlist of as many songs as we can find on there

If you're not already subscribed to Heat Rocks in Apple Podcasts, do it here!